BLOG TOUR: The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich | #TLIBlogTourPH

IMG_0554

The Love Interest
by Cale Dietrich
Publication date is on May 16th 2017 by Feiwel & Friends
Young Adult, Contemporary
Link to Goodreads
Order: Amazon | Book Depository

BLOG-Synopsis from GR

There is a secret organization that cultivates teenage spies. The agents are called Love Interests because getting close to people destined for great power means getting valuable secrets.

Caden is a Nice: The boy next door, sculpted to physical perfection. Dylan is a Bad: The brooding, dark-souled guy, and dangerously handsome. The girl they are competing for is important to the organization, and each boy will pursue her. Will she choose a Nice or the Bad?

Both Caden and Dylan are living in the outside world for the first time. They are well-trained and at the top of their games. They have to be – whoever the girl doesn’t choose will die.

What the boys don’t expect are feelings that are outside of their training. Feelings that could kill them both.

BLOG-my thoughts

Cale Dietrich’s debut novel has been one of my most anticipated releases in 2017 since the day I’ve heard about it! Who would want to pass up to read a book about spies who are trained to be as ‘Love Interests’ to be partners with people who may have such great power? And the fact that a love triangle was formed intentionally, only to find out that the boys were starting to gain feelings they shouldn’t have.

Caden, our main guy is a Nice. Also known as the best-friend figure, your typical cool guy who would never break hearts. He’s that clean, dapper-looking boy you’d want your parents to meet. Meanwhile Dyl, is a BadRugged but handsome looking, is into poetry, kinda reminds me of Ezra Miller. Rich but unhappy. Though a definite head-turner!

As Love Interests, they both have to make their way to Juliet’s heart, or else one of them faces the inevitable those who ends up as rejects. In this aspect I completely appreciated the feeling of reading something new. At this day and age, so many own voices are being written and the fact that at one point this book was about self-discovery about sexuality, it made it for me. I also loved how the plot was based on spies, I mean what creative mind gets to think of that?! The scenes where the two boys were together were wonderfully done and they never failed to keep me on my toes. Undeniably, I enjoyed reading every bit of it!

Juliet’s character felt refreshing too. Science prodigy, creates badass inventions, not-so moody compared to other Young Adult heroines (you get what I mean?!), and knows how to detach her emotions for situations that need rational thinking. Give. Me. More. Heroines. Like. Her!!! She’s not an easy girl, really. She can get confusing but it’s more of her inexperience with relationships, but overall I found her an ace character, along with her best friend Natalie.

As much as possible I want to be 100% honest in my reviews… and there was a specific scene that may or may not offend a LGBTQIA+ reader in my opinion. I thoroughly enjoyed this book but a specific scene made me a bit uncomfortable. I just wanted to give you guys a heads up! This is an own voices read so it depends on the reader as to how they’d feel about that scene!

Cale’s writing was crisp and straight to the point. There were times where some scenes were predictable (or I thought it was?!) then not. I liked the whole feel to it, that it was easy to get engaged with the characters and their story. Overall, I really enjoyed this novel and would recommend it to anyone. I’m really looking forward for more of Cale Dietrich’s work in the future!

If you’re looking for a light and easy read with adventure, adventurous boys, fun dialogues, and deceit… I would definitely recommend this book!

I would like to thank my good friend JM from Book Freak Revelations (and Macmillan) for hosting this tour, and letting me be part of it! This doesn’t affect my thoughts towards the book in anyway.

Check out the other blog stops below! (Will be added once the blog tour’s ended)

About Cale Dietrich:14541076

Cale Dietrich is a YA devotee, lifelong gamer, and tragic pop punk enthusiast. He was born in Perth, grew up on the Gold Coast, and now lives in Brisbane, Australia. The Love Interest is his first novel.

One thought on “BLOG TOUR: The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich | #TLIBlogTourPH

Leave a Reply

