BOOK REVIEW | The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

tsiaasbanner

“We are born to dream and make the things we dream about.”

The Sun is Also a Star 
by Nicola Yoon
Published November 1st 2016 by Delacorte Press
Link to Goodreads
Young Adult Contemporary
Order: Amazon | Book Depository

BLOG-Synopsis from GRNatasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?
BLOG-my thoughtsThis book has been running on my mind for days. My thoughts are all over the place and I’m not quite sure how to go with this review. It’s nothing I’ve ever read before. Gripping. Powerful. I never wanted it to end.

I read this novel in advance thanks to JM from the Book Freak Revelations, for hosting The Sun is also a Star blog tour here in the Philippines! Rest is assured that these thoughts and ~feels~ of mine are completely honest.

Here we have Natasha and Daniel as our sun. The main point of our story.
But there is also the stars. Unique stars. Stars with their own background, their own story. Stars that are usually disregarded, unnoticed. Stars who wish to be noticed. Stars that are different from another. Sometimes we forget that the sun is also a star.

Along the road, The Sun is Also a Star reminded me that there are other people in this world who experience problems and hardships that are different from ours. Nobody exactly goes through the same exact thing. How quick we are to judge others we barely know of? Who knows what they have gone, or currently going through? This book made feel selfish. Embarrassed too, maybe… at how small and petty the problems I had compared to what others are going through right now. The world does not stop for anyone, is what I greatly realized. The world does not revolve around us.

Nicola Yoon has incorporated a different concept of writing stories which I found myself greatly appreciating. She made me care. For love, for diversity, and generally, for others. This journey was a whirlwind of a ride. My thoughts and emotions were all over the place. It’s amazing how I ended up caring for some of the side-characters, rather, characters with just a few appearances.

This book isn’t your typical boy meets girl and falls in love story. Yes, there is insta-love, and mind you, I absolutely despise books with characters who fall in love the first time they’d meet. Somehow, The Sun is Also a Star made it work. Natasha and Daniel’s story was sculpted so beautifully that it’s without a doubt deserved to be my favorite young adult contemporary of all time. I would always recommend this to anyone who would ask me for books to read.

The characters in this story was unique. Natasha and Daniel were polar opposites without a doubt, but they were just perfect and meant to be for one another. Natasha was headstrong, intelligent, and full of courage. She never gave up until the very last minute. You can’t help but fall in love with a person like her. Daniel was a quirky adorkable guy, and without a doubt huge sweetheart. His character was full of charisma and spirit. It made me want to have my own Daniel. Someone I could keep forever in my heart.

Who knew you could feel so conflicted in one book? The best thing here is how the side characters were incorporated. They were brought to life. There was depth. At one point you hate them, the next, you don’t. If there’s one reminder this book could give to me is that there is always a reason. Nothing happens without reason.

I loved this novel so much and honestly speaking, if Ed Sheeran were to come across this book, I bet he’d make a pretty awesome song about it. You know, that type of song that will keep playing on your mind with a bit of a melodramatic tone, but kinda cheery vibe that would have lyrics based on serendipity and taking chances.

I honestly thought that I was over YA contemporary (I’m mainly a YA fantasy reader these days), but this book left me awe-struck. I’ve never read a young adult contemporary that makes me feel so happy and so sad at the same time the way this book did. It was the YA contemp for me.

There’s not doubt that this book has pulled my heartstrings. It was raw and realistic, which made it hurt. Please. Do yourself a favor and pick this book up. Making this book review just makes me want to re-live this story.

This book just makes me want to pick up Everything, Everything, which I’ve heard nothing but great things about! Why I haven’t read it yet, I’m not sure, but I’m looking forward to more of Nicola Yoon in the future.

Huge thanks to again to JM for making me a part of this book tour. My first ever book tour surely became amazing, thanks to this wonderful, wonderful book.

Check out the other blog tour stops here:

JM (Book Freak Revelations) | Jasmine (Jasmine Pearl Reads) | Mark (Bong Bong Books)
Jayvee (Writer for Misfits) | Shealea (The Book Shelf Bitch)
Inah (The Bibliophile Confessions) | Josiah (The Bookish Fanboy)
Nicka (Read by Nicka) | Bea (Confessions of a Pinay Bookaholic)

There’s an international giveaway for The Sun is Also a Star! Be sure to check it out right here

BLOG-5 stars

sig
Instagram | Goodreads | Twitter

5 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW | The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

  1. Our friendship story will forever be embedded in my heart and mind, and we have this book to thank for that! Thank you for your interest, your support, your enthusiasm, and for everything that transpired since we’ve met! I’m so glad to have met you, and here’s to more tours for us to be a part of! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is such a compelling review, I am struggling these days with YA contemp too, having moved firmly over to the fantasy side, but you’ve definitely made me want to pick up this book! Excellent review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love your review Allie. I cant remember the last time I’ve picked up a YA comtempt and this is making me want to read The Sun is Also a Star. I cant wait to read it. I hope I get the same feels as you did. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. 😁

    Like

Leave a Reply

