BOOK REVIEW | Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

eos

“They say she’s beautiful as sin—and colder than ice. They say she’s a tyrant, a coward, a whore. They say she’s gods-blessed—or gods-damned. Who knows?
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass, #5) by Sarah J. Maas
Published September 6th 2016 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Link to Goodreads
New Adult Fantasy
Read on: 08 September 2016

Do not read this review if you haven’t read the previous books! Check out my book review on Queen of Shadows.

BLOG-Synopsis from GRThe long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those don’t.

As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.

Aelin’s journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?

BLOG-my thoughtsWARNING: SPOILER FREE but FEELS OVERLOAD.

Before this book was released there were so many promises and high hopes. Not just that but also spoilers, hate, and overall negativity surrounding this book to the point of bringing hatred and personal attacks to the author. Was that even necessary? It’s sad that those people who rated this book 1-star based on assumed spoilers. Surely they’re missing out a lot because I absolutely LOVED this book. 

Let’s do the whole if you don’t have anything nice to say, just don’t say anything else anymore, shall we?

The moment I am writing this, my thoughts are a bit all over the place, so allow me to ramble my non-spoilery thoughts in this review. So much has gone through this book, I’m not quite sure where to start.

If you’re a bit iffy on the whole love aspect, I wouldn’t say it’s not there because it is. That’s Sarah J. Maas’ specialty. Fantasy mixed with a bit of smut and female worship. DO NOT LET THAT DETER YOU. Saying that this book is action packed feels a bit of an injustice to what the characters have gone through. It’s more than that. Chapter per chapter, shit has gone uphill and downhill.

This book was eventful and so many things were just going on! Action here, destruction there, it’s every fuckingwhere. It was all too fast and sometimes even if the book itself were too long, it didn’t suffice. There were no room for more depth to the story. But that doesn’t mean that I didn’t enjoy it any less!

Aelin Ashryver Galathynius. Just… I know I say this so many times, but the sass she has? I don’t know how this woman becomes sassier and sassier after every time. She’s a crazy-insane protagonist since day numero uno, and that still hasn’t changed. Can be annoying for some, but personally, I love it! Everything about her now, I love deeply. She can be careless, annoying, but also loving, caring, and would do anything for her friends, her kingdom, basically for all of the people she loves.

I also appreciated how this story didn’t just revolve around Aelin, but also the other side characters! I mean, I can’t stress enough that there’s a great number of marvelous characters in Throne of Glass. You know, like the kick-ass female characters dominating this story?! GAWD. I’m at awe. The boys were badass as well! Elide. Lysandra. Aedion. The Thirteen. The Cadre. I am attached to ALL of these characters. Especially Rowan and Aelin. I wrote this on my Queen of Shadows review and I’m repeating it here again. So. Much. Character. Development! I swear all of her characters gets better all the time.

Rowan and Aelin… gosh. They’re so perfect as a team. I don’t even know how to describe how much I love these two together, from Queen of Shadows, I have boarded the Rowaelin ship.

and HELLO EVERYONE I ACTUALLY LIKE DORIAN NOW. If you have read my previous reviews, you would know that I didn’t actually like his character because he bore me to death. Now I liked how Sarah executed his character. He’s stronger than ever, and damn him, I just swooned as well because of how he talks and how he carried himself. I also love how much he loves Chaol. Despite everything, I also love Chaol Westfall from the bottom of my heart.

Sarah also gave a heads up that a few characters from previous books were coming back, and I was NOT disappointed! OH THE EXCITEMENT!

Lastly, my all time favorite, Manon Blackbeak. I can’t even fathom my feelings and thoughts to words about how much I love this character. Deadly. Vicious. But she knows who she is, what’s right and wrong. The way she progressed throughout this series was overall impressive and I am glad that other people appreciate her more now! I also love how passionate she is with the Thirteen and Elide. And they say witches don’t have souls!

The only issue I find myself encountering is the way how time flows in this book. I find myself surprised that this book is flew by fast, that I am not aware that it has already been three days, weeks, etcetera. I just couldn’t keep up with it. Also, the world building was quite lacking as they were travelling and travelling to various places that sometimes I don’t find myself picturing the whole scenario. Although it was a great feeling to be in Erilea again!

My grabby hands are aching for my physical copy to arrive as I pre-ordered a couple of editions and the kindle edition! AH the agony of waiting! I have so much to say, but I don’t want to spoil anyone!! I could only hope for more in the final (?!) instalment of this series. BLOG-5 stars

My initial rating was 5, but considering that I were lost at some points of the story, I’m giving it a 4.75. I have never, ever given a book something more than 4.5 but less than 5. This book broke me. I’ll just round it up, for formalities. Sarah J. Maas, you never fail to break me. Piece me up, and break me once again.

sigInstagram | Goodreads | Twitter

Leave a Reply

