BOOK REVIEW | Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

HEADER-13

A lot of you cared, just not enough.

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher
Published October 18th 2007 by Razorbill
Link to Goodreads
Young Adult Contemporary 
Read on: 25 July 2016

BLOG-Synopsis from GR

Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers thirteen cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker, his classmate and crush who committed suicide two weeks earlier.

On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out how he made the list.

Through Hannah and Clay’s dual narratives, debut author Jay Asher weaves an intricate and heartrending story of confusion and desperation that will deeply affect teen readers.

BLOG-my thoughts

Eerily captivating. This book was something I couldn’t put down.

I remember picking this novel up years ago, but I don’t think that I have ever gotten around finishing it. Most of you might have read it though… but it was still good.

Although the premise sounds promising, the story related to Clay himself didn’t live up to how it was portrayed. I wont go into detail since it might get spoilery.

This novel was confusing and mysterious—I had hopes and theories made up, and none of it was right. All of those theories I formed were wrong. I was quite disappoint since there were quite a number of baits in the story for me to form such theories.

The whole cassette-Hannah leading Clay was well pit enough that I too find myself as if I were in Clay’s position. Graphic. Just goes to show how well written it was.

I would also like to mention how much I admired the fact that this book dealt with suicide. Which is a very serious-sensitive topic, especially amongst teenagers since high school is the sense of one’s discovery. You see, no one ever kill themselves for the same reason because everyone goes through different things, relatable, but not the exact same experience.

In this book, it was enough for Hannah. And she wanted the recipients  to know why. She knew what she was doing, and she was decided. You see, here’s where my issue starts with the book, and I feel complicated. I always fight for ‘let the bullies suffer’ etcetera, etcetera. But I also felt it was sorta unfair for some of them to carry such burden that they didn’t sign up for. I don’t know. I didn’t see the point of it.

I also felt as if the ending was cut off. When I finished it, I was like, that was it? Seriously?  But beyond all of that, this book was still impactful. Significant, even. Thirteen Reasons Why was definitely a fast read, and I would still recommend this book to anyone!

BLOG-3 starssigInstagram | Goodreads | Twitter

6 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW | Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Leave a Reply

