What Book Buying Ban? | August Book Haul 2016


This month, I wanted to slow down a bit and go on a book buying ban. Well after reading the title, I guess you can tell that the ban did not work out for me. #bookhoarderproblems
Since this is just a tiny haul, I’ll include each books’ synopses.

So I managed to accumulate three titles I am looking forward to get on soon!

First is, Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton.

24934065

I’ve been hearing rave reviews on this book from the booktube community and from people whose opinions I respect! It’s not on top of my to-be-read, but I’m looking forward to read this in the future!

Synopsis:

She’s more gunpowder than girl—and the fate of the desert lies in her hands.

Mortals rule the desert nation of Miraji, but mystical beasts still roam the wild and barren wastes, and rumor has it that somewhere, djinni still practice their magic. But there’s nothing mystical or magical about Dustwalk, the dead-end town that Amani can’t wait to escape from.

Destined to wind up “wed or dead,” Amani’s counting on her sharpshooting skills to get her out of Dustwalk. When she meets Jin, a mysterious and devastatingly handsome foreigner, in a shooting contest, she figures he’s the perfect escape route. But in all her years spent dreaming of leaving home, she never imagined she’d gallop away on a mythical horse, fleeing the murderous Sultan’s army, with a fugitive who’s wanted for treason. And she’d never have predicted she’d fall in love with him… or that he’d help her unlock the powerful truth of who she really is.

Next, we have It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover.

27362503

You guys might not know it since I haven’t expressed my love for CoHo yet, but I am literally obsessed with Colleen Hoover’s books. How some people can say it, I’m pretty much CoHo trash. If you’ve read her books, you know that she has the power to make you and break you with the characters in her books. She deals with heavy issues in her novels, that’s why there’s a recent drama surrounding her about trigger warnings. I will be reading this book when I am emotionally ready! Most if not all of my friends at #NALitLoversPH has read it and I’m just not ready!

Synopsis:

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up – she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan – her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

With this bold and deeply personal novel, Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. It Ends With Us is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.

This book contains graphic scenes and very sensitive subject matter.

Lastly, we have here is Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi.

28110143

Now I don’t really know what it’s about, but I’ve recently read the Shatter Me trilogy,and Tahereh’s writing just captivated me! I needed more of it. I also believe that this is a middle grade standalone, which is very exciting since I haven’t read that much MG since I read the Percy Jackson series back in 2009. I’m hoping that this book is easy to get in to. This is also upppp in my to-be-read pile. ♡

Synopsis:

There are only three things that matter to twelve-year-old Alice Alexis Queensmeadow: Mother, who wouldn’t miss her; magic and color, which seem to elude her; and Father, who always loved her. The day Father disappears from Ferenwood he takes nothing but a ruler with him. But it’s been almost three years since then, and Alice is determined to find him. She loves her father even more than she loves adventure, and she’s about to embark on one to find the other.

But bringing Father home is no small matter. In order to find him she’ll have to travel through the mythical, dangerous land of Furthermore, where down can be up, paper is alive, and left can be both right and very, very wrong. Her only companion is a boy named Oliver whose own magical ability is based in lies and deceit–and with a liar by her side in a land where nothing is as it seems, it will take all of Alice’s wits (and every limb she’s got) to find Father and return home to Ferenwood in one piece. On her quest to find Father, Alice must first find herself–and hold fast to the magic of love in the face of loss.

September is an exciting month for book releases! Expect a haul (of course) from me again, soon!

Thanks for reading!

sig

3 thoughts on “What Book Buying Ban? | August Book Haul 2016

  1. Bahaha! Book buying ban? Yeah, those three words in sequence have no meaning in my mind, which is obvious by the 50 unread books in my living room. >.> But the thing about books is they don’t go bad, they don’t go out of date, you can come back to them whenever you want, and buying them on sale means you’re saving money even if it’ll take you six months to get around to reading them. *has way too many justifications for this* haha! But I love buying new books and I can understand your struggle. I think I really have to put a hold on myself now. :/ We’ll see how it goes, though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh Melanie, I feel you! 😂 Don’t hold back! Especially now that September is a good month of new releases… I swear ever since I joined the internet book community, I’ve been hearing so many good recommendations, I just can’t help myself with the purchases!
      It’s funny how people ask how I read those books on my shelf… but the thing is I don’t get to read everything…? Hahaha!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Haha! I’m not even buying new books most of the time. I’m still trying to catch up on books from my 6-year school-induced reading hiatus. :p
        But I agree. The blogosphere has really been a negative impact on my TBR depending on how you look at it. :p

        Like

Leave a Reply

