T5W: Books I Will NEVER Read

T5W

Since it’s still Wednesday in other countries, and I forgot to schedule my post, I’m still winging it!

I know this post may come off negative to some, but I promise I do not mean to offend anyone. This is entirely subjective for readers! Some of these are standalone novels, a set of books, a continuation in a series, books I tried to read, and so and so.

Four books I would like to mention are John Green’s other books. Okay, so if you have read my about me section, The Fault in Our Stars has contributed to my endless on-and-off journey with reading. TFiOS is without a doubt really up in the list of my all-time favorite YA contemporaries.

It’s quite ironic how none of his other books worked out for me. At first I tried An Abudance of Katherines… and nope. Wasn’t a fan of how it was written and I didn’t like the main character. I didn’t continue on reading it and proceeded to donate it to a library. Looking for Alaska, I was spoiled when I overheard a bunch of people talking in the bookstore, never bothered picking it up. Wall Grayson, Wallgrayson, I tried reading it as well when I borrowed it from a friend. And again, nope, it didn’t work out. Paper Towns didn’t interest me either. I’m sorry if you liked these books, it weird how I loved TFiOS so much, but don’t find any of these other books worth a shot anymore.

17383918

A series I do not find myself finishing would be, the Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth. WHOOP, before you retaliate on me, I have actually read the first two books in this series. I remember getting Allegiant after a few days (or maybe a week?) after the release, and I was looking forward on reading it. But nope. Somebody just had to ruin the experience for me and spoiled the whole thing. On the interwebs. Courtesy anyone? Know of it? Nothing makes me angrier than spoilers because I’m one of those people who just never forget about information, even the littlest.

 

30226723

 

An extra would be the King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard.
I cannot, for the life of me, stress enough how much I disliked (not a strong term enough, but to be polite, lol) the second book in this trilogy, Glass Sword (see: thoughts on goodreads). I no longer really care about what happens to Mare. Again, sorry. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I absolutely loved Red Queen. I remember the thrill I felt in the ending of the first instalment that I had to pre-order GS right away from the book depo. In hardcover. Gosh, it was so disappointing… my money was not well spent. GS was all over the place and I didn’t feel like there was a thorough direction in the story and the MC annoyed me so much, I just disconnected with her. So bye, bye, Red Queen series for me.

Have you guys read any of these books (Except for RQ#3)? Thoughts?

Thanks for reading!

sigInstagram | Goodreads | Twitter

6 thoughts on “T5W: Books I Will NEVER Read

  1. Oh Allie!! I freaking loved TFiOS but I can’t love the other J.Green books as well. I was bored out of my mind with Abundance of Katherines and yep, did not even bother to finish paper towns and looking for Alaska. Haha 🙊🙈

    I was super annoyed with Mare in GS too. Like I wanna shake her and scream at her to make up her mind!! She turned into a diva of sorts. I love RQ but she lost it in the second book. The other characters like her brothers to name a few, are my only reason why I still got that anticipating feeling for King’s cage. also I’m a Maven fan haha 😈.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sad to see John Green not working out with us. AAoK was just boring, it got me in a huge slump! I don’t think I’ll ever read any of his books… ever.

      Good luck with King’s Cage! I seriously can’t handle any more of Mare. I can’t even imagine reading more of her endless drama and self assurance *but little character development, agh.

      Like

  2. I’m with you on basically all of this. I read TFiOS and enjoyed it, but have not felt compelled to read any of Green’s other novels. They just don’t seem as good, from what I know of them, and I hear they all have a similar type of quirkiness. It worked for one book, but I don’t want to read it in five more.

    I didn’t read Allegiant simply because I thought it was so badly written. I don’t know why I thought it about Book 3 and not the first two books, but there it is. I started reading, couldn’t stand the prose, and just quit. I know how it ends, and I have no problem with that, though I know it’s been controversial. But I have no plans to read anything else Roth publishes because I think her main talent was in the concept for Divergent, not necessarily her actual writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Briana. 🙂 True enough, I don’t even think I’ll give John Green’s future books a go *if he were to release some. I guess if there were to be movie adaptations, that would be fine and I’ll settle. I wish the other books worked just as well as TFiOS because it was one of my favorite contemporary reads! Sadly his kind of writing style no longer worked for the other books. They all just seemed slow at one point.
      I haven’t really observed how the writing was back then with Veronica Roth, but as of the moment, I really don’t see myself reading any of her books anymore as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

