BOOK REVIEW | One Day Soon by A. Meredith Walters

HEADER-ODS

“It had been a reckless attachment during bleak, dangerous times. It had been a light in a murky darkness that had almost consumed us both.”

One Day Soon by A. Meredith Walters
Published February 18th 2016
Link to Goodreads
New Adult Contemporary

Read on: 16 August 2016
this book contains several dark, heavy elements. just a little warning before you dive into it.

BLOG-Synopsis from GRHe found me in blood and tears.
I stayed with him through darkness and fire.

We loved each other in the moment between innocence and bitter truth.
We were the kids easily ignored, who grew into adults we hardly knew.

We weren’t meant to last forever. And we didn’t.

He ran away.
I tried to move on.

Yet I never stopped thinking about the boy who had fought to keep me alive in a world that would have swallowed me whole. He was the past that I buried, but never forgot.

Until the day I found him again, years after believing I had lost him forever.

And in cold, resentful eyes, I saw the heart of the man who had been everything when I had nothing at all. So I vowed to hold onto the second chance that was stolen from the children we had been.

Sometimes fate is ugly. Life can be twisted.
And who we are can be ruined by who we once were.

For two people who had survived so much, we would have to learn how to hold on before we were forced to let go.BLOG-my thoughts

Let me just start off by saying that this book isn’t one for the weak heart.

I have been crying and crying and crying non stop. I blame this book for making me sick recently with a clogged nose. My eyes are burning and I just wanted to sleep it out cause everything hurts.

One Day Soon was so raw and beautiful. I’ve never read something with such pure originality, and was capable to produce unearthly cries (cue sob-fest and snot dripping because OH it hurts). Throughout this book, my heart was all over the place in bits and pieces. I just can’t. Sorry if it seems like I’m rambling but this book was too good, it left my  heart a mess and I need a break.

I want to make this review as short and spoiler-free as much as possible, so here it goes:

This book started off with Imogen Conner, who ran away from home at the age of sixteen. Being away from food and comfort, she found herself helpless and struggling in the streets. That is until a boy, Yossarian Frazier, came along to be her saviour. He rescued and took care of her, and she became his happiness. Wherever he went, she went. They were inseparable. They made promises to leave and create a new life out of the streets… and one of them broke it and never showed up.
Years passed by and she never thought she’d ever see him again, until one day, she sees him on a hospital bed nearly beaten to death. And fate has never been kinder.

This story was all about having second chances, surviving, and loving unconditionally by all means, especially without judgment. How many hardships and trials these two have gone through, I can’t even count anymore.

Both of the leading characters were so well developed, I was at first trying to figure out whose story it was. I mean, most novels have that right? Here, it was about the both of them. Yoss and Imi, Imi and Yoss. Everything they have gone through was detailed, it was beyond heart-wrenching. Every other chapter, I found myself bawling because everything about this book hurt. What they’ve gone through and currently going through… it was an endless cycle of pain and sorrow. They were surviving. Barely.

Oh, Miss Walters? Consider me now a fan. Personally, the writing style was satisfyingly intricate, there were plenty of details in this story that made it all too intense. This is a roller coaster ride I would never forget.

I’m sorry if you think I’m over reacting, I’m not. Truly. I’m an emotional mess right now, that’s for sure. If you haven’t read this yet, DO when you’re ready. This book isn’t for the weak. I am not even joking. Mature themes and events are guaranteed but not in the way you would normally expect in a new adult novel. BLOG-5 starsI read this along with several lovely ladies, and it was just wonderful because it was like a support group! WE did not think that this read would be a heavy one.

[#NALitLoversPH | #NewAdultandBeyondPH]
You can follow their blogs and check their reviews below:
Pearl from Pearl’s Book Journey,
Bea from Confessions of a Pinay Bookaholic ,
Kat from The Booklander,
Claire form The Coffeholic Bookworm,
Rechellyn from Infinite TBR List,
and Jam from Heartscent Reads.

sigInstagram | Goodreads | Twitter

Leave a Reply

