BOOK REVIEW | The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas

18243700

The Assassin’s Blade (Throne of Glass 0.1 – 0.5)
by Sarah J. Maas
Published March 4th 2014 by Bloomsbury Childrens
Link to Goodreads
Young Adult Fantasy

Read on: 09 August 2016
My rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Celaena Sardothien is Adarlan’s most feared assassin. As part of the Assassin’s Guild, her allegiance is to her master, Arobynn Hamel, yet Celaena listens to no one and trusts only her fellow killer-for-hire, Sam. In these action-packed novellas – together in one edition for the first time – Celaena embarks on five daring missions. They take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, where she fights to liberate slaves and seeks to avenge the tyrannous. But she is acting against Arobynn’s orders and could suffer an unimaginable punishment for such treachery. Will Celaena ever be truly free? Explore the dark underworld of this kick-ass heroine to find out.

BLOG-my thoughtsHow am I even supposed to form coherent thoughts on this? Admittingly, I neglected to read this part of the Throne of Glass series for obvious reasons for those who has read Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, etc. you’d know why. If you haven’t read the other books, spare yourself from pain and read the first two or so instalment first before this prequel. If I read this book first, I’d be damned.

The Assassin’s Blade will give you so much emotion, from the thrilling adrenaline to the greatest heartbreaks of all time. Trust me, I thought I was ready… but I still ended up bawling my eyes out. Trust me… I’ve slept on it and as I’m writing this review, my eyes are burning from the sob-fest that happened prior to this day and it pains me so much to think of it.

Celaena Sardothien, a notorious assassin, protegée of Arobynn Hamel, oozing with so much fierceness, confidence, and overall kick-ass girl power. I can’t even fathom the struggles this girl has been in her life. She’s strong and determined, yet sensitive and girly at the same time. Celaena’s that type of character I would actually want to swap lives with… sometimes. If there’s one character I’d look up to, it would be her. Knowing all of the things she’s been through from here to Queen of Shadows… all of the challenges she’s been through… just, wow. No words.

The world wasn’t really build that much in this book, since most of it takes place in the first book in this series, Throne of Glass. Still, we got a glimpse on other places from the first to fourth prequel. As usual, this book was thrilling and action packed!

My only problem with Sarah J. Maas in general (yes, she’s my favorite author of all time BUT) is the abundant use of animalistic tendencies/reaction? Not in the way you’re thinking, no. She constantly uses the line “he let out a low growl” or “he purred” like oh my god. Why. I couldn’t take those seriously. I always see those in every book of hers.

On another hand, I really, really enjoy Sarah’s writing. Every time I read her books it’s as if I’m reading a contemporary novel. You could easily devour her books. It’s addicting, really.

If you have yet to read this, prepare for an adrenaline filled adventure and a gut-wrenching, heart stopping ending.

To those who has read the other Throne of Glass books… I swear this was just as good. And just as painful as I expected it to be. Read it.BLOG-5 stars

sigInstagram | Goodreads | Twitter

Leave a Reply

