BOOK REVIEW | Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by John Tiffany and Jack Thorne

626F6F78747265616D=7474747474727576707<7473

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child 
by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne
Published July 31st 2016 by Little Brown UK
Link to Goodreads
Childrens/YA Fantasy

Read on: 2 August 2016
My rating: ★★
see my initial review on goodreads: here.

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

My thoughts:

The Cursed Child is without a doubt one of the most anticipated releases in 2016 (being a Harry Potter book and all) in the whole book-community. Honestly, I wasn’t sure what to expect here… since this wasn’t exactly written by J.K. Rowling herself, but it was approved by her. Sadly, I would just like to say that it was not for me.

I appreciate seeing the original characters and all, but what I felt sad the most is how they executed them in this screenplay. The way they made Harry in particular left me rather dejected. I don’t want to get on to details, but it was as if he was still in his teens just the physical image changed, and all that jazz. I had several issues with the Potter family if I’m being honest. I thought all was well? Apparently not.

The only character that I would want to treasure in this screenplay would be Scorpius Malfoy. He was such a huge sweetheart and I would just want to keep him forever in my pocket! I knew when I encountered him for the first time that I would treasure him for the rest of the book. He’s a huge ball of geeky sunshine. What I loved the most about him, is despite the fact that he had so many struggles, he was still full of life and love. What’s not to love about Scorpius?

I seriously enjoyed Delphi’s role in this screenplay, too!

Yes, this was a fun thing to read but I honestly think that the plot lacked substance. It hurts me even to think of not liking a Harry Potter book. The problems were redundant. A lot of the characters were disappointing. And yes, they did a great job with teaching moral and family values… but can we not count this as the eight book? Please? Maybe a like a spin-off or something. Let’s just leave the whole Harry Potter series to the Deathly Hallows?

My fault, I guess is that I wanted something more from this… which led me into a state of disappointment. Since this book was written as a screenplay it only took me a few hours to finish it. By the time I finished it, I wondered, was that it? I wish there were more depth into it. Before even settling for a rating, I slept on it and decided I’d settle for a two-star rating instead.

If you’re looking for a new plot and adventure, I’m not entirely sure if you’ll enjoy yourself… but if you just want to see everyone again, for one last time, then go for it.

I wish it worked out for me. I really did. It might work out for you. You never know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

