BOOK REVIEW | Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

13104080“Hope can make people do terrible things.”

Unravel Me (Shatter Me #2)
by Tahereh Mafi
Published February 5th 2013 by HarperCollins
Link to Goodreads
Young Adult Dystopian

Read on: 30 July 2016
My rating: ★★★★(.5)
My review on Shatter Me

 

Synopsis from Goodreads:

tick
tick
tick
tick
tick
it’s almost
time for war.

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.

She’s finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.

Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam’s life.

My thoughts:

How do I even start?

I find myself annoyed with Juliette at times but her character development was really progressive. She’s really having a difficult time with accepting herself and her capabilities. She hasn’t embraced them fully, but she’s definitely learning to. Trying to.

Adam on the other hand… I feel so sad for him. His life just went on a crazy ride ever since Omega Point happened to him. He was terrible. I admit the fact that I refuse to read Fracture Me because I know my whole perception of him would change. He’s having such a hard time. Tempered. Hard headed. I wish things would be better for Adam.

At this point I don’t know what to feel about Warner. I guess I understand now why the ladies love him. Honestly, I feel very conflicted with his character. Some of them just seem so contradicting? He’s hot and cold. Should I fear him? Should I hate him? Should I love him? I have zero clue. But seeing his soft side left me awestruck. I need to learn more about him.

I appreciate how we get to experience more of Castle and Kenji. Two characters whom I’m very curious about! Like how they manage Omega Point. The amount of respect these two has from the people who surrounds them. KENJI is definitely my favorite character in this whole trilogy.

Again, this book was beautifully written. It was fast paced and really easy to get into! It’s just like reading a contemporary novel. It can be a bit too poetic, but I’m so very grateful with the lesser amount of metaphors in this book. The first one was a bit overflowing with them. This book was such a roller coaster ride! It went downhill and uphill and so and so. The ride was never ending. The way this book finished… well, wow. It made me want to pick up the next book! Thankfully it was already out so I didn’t need to wait for months to get reading!

I’m not Team Adam nor Team Warner. HOW DO I EVEN CHOOSE? I don’t know! They both have such different personalities, terrible and beautiful both at the same time! Revelations everywhere! Plot twists galore. Gah. I kennat.

Deffffffffinitely recommend. Pick it up! Right now!

Leave a Reply

