BOOK REVIEW | Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

13188676“I can do anything I want. Be with anyone I want. And it’ll be my choice.”

Ignite Me (Shatter Me #3)
by Tahereh Mafi
Published February 4th 2014 by HarperCollins
Link to Goodreads
Young Adult Dystopia

Read on: 30 July 2016
My rating: ★★★★(.5)
My review on Shatter Me and Unravel Me.

 

Synopsis from Goodreads:

The heart-stopping conclusion to the New York Times bestselling Shatter Me series, which Ransom Riggs, bestselling author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, called “a thrilling, high-stakes saga of self-discovery and forbidden love.”

With Omega Point destroyed, Juliette doesn’t know if the rebels, her friends, or even Adam are alive. But that won’t keep her from trying to take down The Reestablishment once and for all. Now she must rely on Warner, the handsome commander of Sector 45. The one person she never thought she could trust. The same person who saved her life. He promises to help Juliette master her powers and save their dying world . . . but that’s not all he wants with her.

The Shatter Me series is perfect for fans who crave action-packed young adult novels with tantalizing romance like Divergent by Veronica Roth, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, and Legend by Marie Lu. Tahereh Mafi has created a captivating and original story that combines the best of dystopian and paranormal, and was praised by Publishers Weekly as “a gripping read from an author who’s not afraid to take risks.” Now this final book brings the series to a shocking and satisfying end.

My thoughts:

How bittersweet it is to finish such a great series? I wish I could have more. I wish it was enough. I loved the conclusion. Beautifully put. How selfish is it for me to really ask for more? The way this book started was strong and I knew from then that this would be a terrifyingly beautiful book to read.

I love how much Juliette has changed from the first book until the last, concluding chapter. From being a weak little girl, a damsel who was waiting her the day she’d die… turned into a natural-like leader who would welcome death in wide open arms. She was so tired of who she was, of being someone who used to mope and strive as if the world has given up on her, putting weight on her shoulders. Now, she’s such an admirable character that I rarely find myself being annoyed with unlike the previous books. She discovered herself, and accepted the reality of who she was and what she can do. That’s what I appreciated the most with Juliette.

Let’s talk about Warner. Well… Warner… how should I even start with him? Okay. He’s definitely grown on me. I won’t divulge information of some sorts… but how can I ever hate this guy? He was so misrepresented in the previous books. I have always wanted to be the kind of person who would not look down upon people because I do not even truly know them yet. I failed, on that part. I genuinely feel myself caring for Warner. The Warner that I thought was psychotic maniac. Turns out, he has such a great character himself. I actually find myself loving him. Not too much though. He can be too intense.

What scared me the most with this series is that I’ve become accustomed to the characters.  I actually felt fear for what’s about to happen to them. The endless war they have gone through. All I wished was these people to be kept safe. Everything was too intense in this concluding novel, but I loved every single bit of it.

Ignite Me was such a thrilling, fast-paced read. I devoured this book in less than a day (I should be doing my thesis while doing this review, tbh). This is easily my favorite book in this series. I do admit that I had a few conflicts with this, that’s why I couldn’t give it a solid five-star rating. But then again, no book is perfect, right?

This was such an emotional journey and I wish it never ended. I’d definitely recommend this series to anyone, everyone. People need to read the Shatter Me series. I wish I had read it sooner!

PS—Kenji’s still, and always will be my favorite person in the Shatter Me-verse. Bye.

Catch me on: Instagram | Twitter ♡

Leave a Reply

