REVIEW | Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

13455782“Hope is hugging me, holding me in its arms, wiping away my tears and telling me that today and tomorrow and two days from now I will be just fine and I’m so delirious I actually dare to believe it.”

Shatter Me (Shatter Me #1) by Tahereh Mafi
Published October 2nd 2012 by HarperCollins (November 15th 2011)
Link to Goodreads
Young Adult Dystopian

Read on: 17 July 2016
My rating: ★★★★(.5)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

My thoughts:

This book. Wow… I’m at awe. Cause oh my stars, this experience was riveting.

Juliette was a fantastic main character and I found myself admiring that she didn’t go insane after being locked up in an asylum for YEARS without getting to talk to anyone. She was sensitive, a damsel in distress, then turned into someone who stood her ground, who stayed loyal to her loved ones. There’s no character I’ve seen that’s like Juliette. Unwillingly destructive, with one of the most beautiful hearts I’ve ever encountered. She cares so much and it’s heart-wrenching that all she wants to do it help… but she can’t do that without hurting killing anyone because of her touch. It’s beyond her control.. I’m looking forward to more Juliette Ferrars in the next instalment of this series.

Meanwhile, I have yet to find out why people are so fascinated with Warner. If it isn’t obvious enough, he seems like a psychopath… or maybe he just has a nut in the head? His fascination with Juliette is bothersome as if she were an inanimate object. Newsflash mister, people do not interpret the world the way you do. No thought is absolutely the same. Juliette doesn’t see the world the way you do. Man, this guy just drives me nuts! I know that Shadow and Bone by L. Bardugo was published later than this book, but I can’t help but remember the Darkling with his hunger for power when I think of how Warner speaks about Juliette. Anyway, I’m hoping for some serious character development soon. They also said that the novella, Destroy Me, will shed a bit of life in him so I’m looking forward to that.

As much as I want to go in to detail with Adam, I can’t… well, without spoiling anything about him. But gosh, I love him so much. I NEED more of him!!

The writing style was sweet and poetic, not to mention how easy it is to go through. There was a bit of an abundance in metaphors in this book and I’m aware that it put a lot of people off, but honestly it didn’t phase me. I love the way she uses different terms to describe how the character feels. It feels refreshing and magical. 🙂

Several issues I’ve dealt with here is (a) Warner, and (b) the world-building. Warner, I’ve already exaggerated how much this guy makes me insane. The world building though… I can’t seem to map that one out. I wish there were more depth to it, cause so far I have no concrete image of the whole scenario. Only thing I know is that it’s a dystopia with a mix of superpowers, I guess? To be honest, I didn’t know much about this book and expected it to be a fantasy… ha! Good thing this book was pretty good and lived up to the hype.

Why I only read this right now, I don’t know why… but I’m so glad I finally did! Good thing I haven’t heard any spoilers, so I have no idea how this trilogy is going to end… plus, I’ve heard that the next two books in this series are better than this one… and I’m excited for it! If you have not picked this one up, I suggest that you do soon!! 🙂

7 thoughts on “REVIEW | Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

  1. I read this series a while back and reading this review made me feel like I was reading it again for the first time. This book is incredible. You’re going to love the other two book!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

