REVIEW | Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

19487009“She was either going to be the death of me… or she was going to be the one who finally brought me back to life.”

Ugly Love
by Colleen Hoover
Published August 5th 2014 by Atria Books
Link to Goodreads
New Adult Contemporary

Read on: 26 September 2014
My rating: ★★★★(.5)

 

Synopsis from Goodreads:

#1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover returns with a new heart-wrenching love story.

When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she doesn’t think it’s love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.

Never ask about the past.
Don’t expect a future.

They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated.
Promises get broken.
Rules get shattered.
Love gets ugly.

My Thoughts:

This book definitely gave me an emotional ride.
I cried, I laughed, and I cried again.

It’s funny how there were certain moments while reading, I felt like my heart was sinking to the depth of my chest. Books don’t really make me feel like this. Like as if it was my heart being broken.
The empathy I felt for the characters were so strong, I found myself crying when they’re crying. I also found myself taking a break from the book, because it was too painful to the point that I felt like I was clutching my heart. I allowed this book to make me feel these emotions.

Almost a 5, but I’m giving it a 4.5
As much as I would love the book, some of Miles’ POV just made me cringe. (You’ll find out when you read it). I didn’t like how it was written. But I guess it was written that way to intensify the story…
Miles, oh Miles. He’s such a guarded person, you never really know him. It’s as if there’s this invisible armor wrapping around him, not letting anyone take it off.
But nevertheless, I loved him still. He’s just scared.
With Tate, I don’t really know what to say. She was a bit weak, but then so strong. Tate? I adored her.
My favorite character has to be Cap, though. His role is minor in this book. He made a special place in my heart. I’d do anything to have someone like Cap in my life.

Ugly Love was so fast paced. I liked the fact that I pictured every scene so thoroughly without a problem at all. Colleen’s just one of the best writers I’ve ever encountered even though I’ve only read this, and Maybe Someday (go check that one out, too!).
This is more mature than her other book, though.

This book was just brilliant. The plot, the characters, and everything else. Definitely recommending this to every girl so that they would know how pain truly feels like.

Leave a Reply

