REVIEW | Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

14061957“There is no greater power than faith, and there will be no greater army than one driven by it.”

Ruin and Rising (The Grisha #3)
by Leigh Bardugo
Published June 17th 2014 by Henry Holt and Co.
Link to Goodreads
Young Adult Fantasy

Read on: 12 June 2016
My rating: ★★★

Synopsis from Goodreads:

The capital has fallen.

The Darkling rules Ravka from his shadow throne.

Now the nation’s fate rests with a broken Sun Summoner, a disgraced tracker, and the shattered remnants of a once-great magical army.

Deep in an ancient network of tunnels and caverns, a weakened Alina must submit to the dubious protection of the Apparat and the zealots who worship her as a Saint. Yet her plans lie elsewhere, with the hunt for the elusive firebird and the hope that an outlaw prince still survives.

Alina will have to forge new alliances and put aside old rivalries as she and Mal race to find the last of Morozova’s amplifiers. But as she begins to unravel the Darkling’s secrets, she reveals a past that will forever alter her understanding of the bond they share and the power she wields. The firebird is the one thing that stands between Ravka and destruction—and claiming it could cost Alina the very future she’s fighting for.

My Thoughts:

It was a fun ride to be in the Grisha trilogy. Alina, Mal, Tamar, Tolya, Zoya, Genya, Baghra, and so many great characters I appreciated in this story. Bardugo is great with character development, although I couldn’t always seem to follow with the places and the different concepts. Merzost, aka, small science was further dwelled upon the final instalment of the Grisha Trilogy.

I’d be honest that I think that this series was a bit overhyped. At the end of it all, I still don’t know how I feel about the Darkling. Which is truly saying something since other people who’ve read about him seem to really love him. I just don’t see it. There’s something lacking with him and I don’t know what it was, but it didn’t happen in this book.

Overall, I would say that the ending was satisfying. It’s more of an in between with good and bad. Truthfully so, I don’t really have much to say, but I enjoyed it.

3 thoughts on “REVIEW | Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

  1. I loved how this series ended. I just wished that you know, she would end up with that villain. haha! Not gonna mention the name coz spoilers. Great review, Allie!

    Like

    • Thanks Pearl! The ending was quite nice! But I wish it ended differently for you know who… I think I lacked in emotional involvement/connection, that’s why I wasn’t invested much in the grisha trilogy. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s okay, Allie. 🙂 Maybe the series wasn’t for you. But I hope you will love Six of Crows (Haven’t read it yet but I heard so many positive things about it) Good luck! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

