REVIEW | Vendetta by Catherine Doyle

24638201“There is beauty everywhere, even in the dark, there is light, and that is the rarest kind of all”

Vendetta (Blood for Blood #1)
by Catherine Doyle
Published February 24th 2015 by Chicken House Ltd
Link to Goodreads
YA Contemporary (Thriller/Crime)

Read on: 30 May 2015
My rating: ★★★

 

Synopsis from Goodreads:

When it comes to revenge, love is a dangerous complication.With a fierce rivalry raging between two warring families, falling in love is the deadliest thing Sophie could do. An epic debut set outside modern-day Chicago.

When five brothers move into the abandoned mansion in her neighbourhood, Sophie Gracewell’s life changes forever. Irresistibly drawn to bad boy Nicoli, Sophie finds herself falling into a criminal underworld governed by powerful families. As the boys’ dark secrets begin to come to light, Sophie is confronted with stinging truths about her own family, too. She must choose between two warring dynasties – the one she was born into, and the one she is falling in love with. When she does, blood will spill and hearts will break.

My thoughts:

This novel was dark, gritty, with a mix of romance. Truly, I felt that judging a book by it’s cover is never ever helpful in figuring out what this story was about. So stupid of me though for not knowing what Vendetta was, and the cute cover just got me. This is one of those stories where I just go in it blind, cause I thought, why not?

Anyway, I’m not against books that contains violence and all that jazz, but I found this book predictable, given that there was a lot of plot twists in this novel. Part I and the first half of Part II felt dragging. Meanwhile, the latter portion of Part II and Part III made me feel excited, anticipating what comes next. When I reached around the 15th-16th chapter, I was hooked. I couldn’t put the book down. It still made me grip whatever I can get–tight, and cry at scenes when I don’t see coming.

Her writing style isn’t that much captivating either, but it doesn’t mean that it’s necessarily hard to cope with. It was in fact, easy to get in to. I’m very glad the ending didn’t feel like a cliffhanger. I’m still going to continue with this series, and I’m hoping for the second book to get better!

If you want to read a book that contains loyalty, love, family, and blood feud, try giving this book a shot.

… Let me just say that love makes us do things we don’t see ourselves doing when we weren’t in love.

Leave a Reply

