REVIEW | The Rose and The Dagger by Renée Ahdieh

 23308084“Cut the strings, Shazi. Fly.”

The Rose & the Dagger (The Wrath and the Dawn #2)
by Renee Ahdieh
Published April 26th 2016 by G.P. Putnam
Link to Goodreads
Young Adult Fantasy

Read: 23 May 2016
My rating: ★★★★

 

Synopsis from Goodreads: 

The much anticipated sequel to the breathtaking The Wrath and the Dawn, lauded by Publishers Weekly as “a potent page-turner of intrigue and romance.”

I am surrounded on all sides by a desert. A guest, in a prison of sand and sun. My family is here. And I do not know whom I can trust.

In a land on the brink of war, Shahrzad has been torn from the love of her husband Khalid, the Caliph of Khorasan. She once believed him a monster, but his secrets revealed a man tormented by guilt and a powerful curse—one that might keep them apart forever. Reunited with her family, who have taken refuge with enemies of Khalid, and Tariq, her childhood sweetheart, she should be happy. But Tariq now commands forces set on destroying Khalid’s empire. Shahrzad is almost a prisoner caught between loyalties to people she loves. But she refuses to be a pawn and devises a plan.

While her father, Jahandar, continues to play with magical forces he doesn’t yet understand, Shahrzad tries to uncover powers that may lie dormant within her. With the help of a tattered old carpet and a tempestuous but sage young man, Shahrzad will attempt to break the curse and reunite with her one true love.

My thoughts:

One thing I know for sure is how sad it feels to see this series over. I don’t know why but these two books are by far the most difficult books I’ve reviewed up to date. Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely loved this series to the extent of missing it and wanting to re-read it right away all over again. I miss the characters deeply.

Let me tell you this. Renée Ahdieh can do no wrong with her writing style. The way she puts together words is so beautifully put into place, my heart’s singing every time I read her books. It was so easy to get into, and without a doubt a beautiful experience I would want to have again and again and again. I wish I could read more of her, because her writing is so visual, sensuous, and addictive.

On the side note, we can all agree how much the ending of the first book was quite annoying, ending off in a cut note. We were left in the dark with The Wrath and The Dawn. Everything about TW&TD was great, really, except for the ending. There were no explanations as to what happened! But goosh The Rose and The Dagger was just great! Better, even than the first book.

The Rose and The Dagger started with Shazi in the camp based in Badawi (where Tarquin took her) and how she was coping up with her surroundings, being the Calipha of Khorosan away from her husband due to the devastating calamity that hit Rey. Honestly the start of the book was rather dragging as there were so many things going on yet just really minimal progress (with the pages). It felt like things were just going on forever… but it does pick up and gets better, so if you find yourself bored with the first few chapters, just keep going and going!

There’s so many character development in this novel, not just with the main characters (Shazi and Khalid), but pretty much every single character! From Irsa (Shazi’s sister), Tarquin, Jahandar, Rahim, and so much more! You know an author’s truly talented when they have the power to develop their characters even the ones with the least roles in the story. Irsa’s definitely one of my favorite characters in this story. From a little girl who was seen as weak or as if a damsel in distress, into a strong young lady with her chip up high, coming to her loved ones aid right away.

JUST. So. Many. Feels. IN THIS BOOK! I swear I cried at some point of it. Then when I finished it, I thought of a particular scene and ended up bawling my eyes again! My emotions are just all over the place with this book. Especially with the romances in this book! I’m stuck at awe and pain at the same time.

The twists and turns in this sequel definitely got me by surprise! The new characters/characters mentioned played their roles so very well, and it just impressed me how much these characters would mean so much to me! And also they actually made me feel more when they’ve only had a small presence in the duology. It’s as if they’re all the main characters in this book despite the fact that it was Shazi and Khalid’s story.

Overall, I was VERY much satisfied with the ending of The Rose and The Dagger duology. It was such a wonderful experience! The concept of LOVE is so strong with these books, it was just the main key to everything. It just really shows how love is the most powerful element in the world.

Love for family. Love for another. Love for power. Love is the strongest feeling in the world that would definitely affect a person’s way of living. Love drives us all to do things we don’t think of ever doing!

Everything about this book was wonderful and I recommend you guys to follow up the story of Shazi and Khalid. OH, give me a flying carpet while you’re at it?! 😀

2 thoughts on “REVIEW | The Rose and The Dagger by Renée Ahdieh

Leave a Reply

