REVIEW | Easy by Tammara Webber

16056408“I want it to be better than okay.
You deserve better than okay.”

Easy (Contours of the Heart #1)
by Tammara Webber
First Published May 25th 2012 by Penguin Berkley
New Adult Contemporary

Read: 25 June 2015
My rating: ★★★

 

Synopsis from Goodreads:

When Jacqueline follows her longtime boyfriend to the college of his choice, the last thing she expects is a breakup two months into sophomore year. After two weeks in shock, she wakes up to her new reality: she’s single, attending a state university instead of a music conservatory, ignored by her former circle of friends, and failing a class for the first time in her life.

Leaving a party alone, Jacqueline is assaulted by her ex’s frat brother. Rescued by a stranger who seems to be in the right place at the right time, she wants nothing more than to forget the attack and that night – but her savior, Lucas, sits on the back row of her econ class, sketching in a notebook and staring at her. Her friends nominate him to be the perfect rebound.

When her attacker turns stalker, Jacqueline has a choice: crumple in defeat or learn to fight back. Lucas remains protective, but he’s hiding secrets of his own. Suddenly appearances are everything, and knowing who to trust is anything but easy.

My thoughts:

Easy was not an easy read because it was filled with drama. Darkness which filled their lives from past up to present. Though the romance was intense, making me feel squeal like a teeny bopper slash fangirl who just can’t stop gushing about their idols. It was too sweet, too intimate, too filled with adoration

After reading this book I felt… conflicted. Honestly, I’m not positive about what rating I should give to this book. Mainly because Lucas, even though he is without a doubt sexy… he can be a stalker. Not that he denies the tendency to be one. He admitted it at some part, that he indeed sounds like a stalker. Most ladies would swoon over this… but I constantly found myself fighting whether I thought it was either creepy, or romantic. But I leaned forward the romantic side, since Jacqueline wasn’t really bothered by it at all. I just went with it, I guess. I really can’t deny that he’s just too sweet, too caring, and a bit over protective. But you’ll get his reasons when you go through the book. I understood his reasons, and I got it. He knows how to treat a woman right. He’s definitely boyfriend material without even knowing it. Except for the whole emo-esque hair. Heh.

Speaking of Jacqueline Wallace, I loved her character’s progress. From a damsel in distress, to a fierce feline. Kinda. Well, she was really miserable on the first few chapters, but when the book was progressing, her character building was growing stronger. She’s really not difficult to love. She’s a charm.

Another problem of mine was with one of the main plot twists… well let’s just say, it didn’t feel too surprising. I guessed it right away, chapters before the reveal. Never the less, this was very an enthralling read; for the first part, because it was just so intense. But I guess when I got busy, I didn’t find myself finishing it right away, and I sort of felt like losing interest because I had no connection with the characters… but when I started reading again, I was hooked. I just had to finish it.

One last thing was I felt like this book could do fine with being a stand alone, not needing a continuation of the story anymore. So no, I don’t think I would be continuing on to the next book anymore. It might be just me, but fictional characters need their break from drama as well. They have been through so many things in this novel, and I don’t think I could read more of that.

This wasn’t really a light read, but it wasn’t a heavy one either. Though if someone was looking for gritty, but filled with love and lust read, I would recommend this novel.

Final rating: Not entirely sure. Somehow I realized It’s sort of a so-so for me.

 

Leave a Reply

