REVIEW | Manwhore (1&2) by Katy Evans

22892122

Manwhore (Manwhore #1) by Katy Evans
Published March 24th 2015 by Gallery Books
Link to Goodreads
New Adult Contemporary

Read: 16 May 2016
My rating: ★★★

 

 

23846385

Manwhore +1 (Manwhore #2)
by Katy Evans
Published July 7th 2015 by Gallery Books
Link to Goodreads
New Adult Contemporary

Read: 17 May 2016
My rating: ★★★

Synopsis from Goodreads of Manwhore (#1):

Is it possible to expose Chicago’s hottest player—without getting played?

This is the story I’ve been waiting for all my life, and its name is Malcolm Kyle Preston Logan Saint. Don’t be fooled by that last name though. There’s nothing holy about the man except the hell his parties raise. The hottest entrepreneur Chicago has ever known, he’s a man’s man with too much money to spend and too many women vying for his attention.

Mysterious. Privileged. Legendary. His entire life he’s been surrounded by the press as they dig for tidbits to see if his fairytale life is for real or all mirrors and social media lies. Since he hit the scene, his secrets have been his and his alone to keep. And that’s where I come in.

Assigned to investigate Saint and reveal his elusive personality, I’m determined to make him the story that will change my career.

But I never imagined he would change my life. Bit by bit, I start to wonder if I’m the one discovering him…or if he’s uncovering me.

What happens when the man they call Saint, makes you want to sin?

My Thoughts:

So I decided I’d review Malcom and Rachel’s story together rather than making separate reviews themselves. Don’t worry, there’s no spoilers here! I binge-read these so I clearly do not remember every single detail about the first book, but I do remember how I felt about it.

This story is about a girl named Rachel Livingston who was tasked to create an exposé for a magazine called Edge (for the salvation of the company, cause it was dyyyyinnnn). The exposé we’re talking about is to reveal all of the juciest things about Malcolm Kyle Preston Logan Saint, trust me, I laughed so hard when I saw how long the name was! Malcom Saint aka the Sin of the Sinner (Rache), is a rich-af bachelor who can’t be, and won’t be tamed.

My main issue with the first book is of how annoyed I was with Rachel. There were just times where I just couldn’t decipher her. I was so confused and annoyed with how she was acting around, which also made me become so detached the to the story because I couldn’t keep up with her! BUT as the story continues to the second book, I greatly greatly appreciated Rachel’s character. She has developed into someone who is clearly more in control of herself than before. Which I say KUDDOS! to her because I do understand why she used to be like that (read the book! *wink*). I love how she’s passionate with what she’s doing, that she gives all that she can.

Here, let me just tell you that Malcom Saint, is clearly no Saint. Though he is a gift from above with those perfectly chiseled body, and the enticing green orbs, you can’t help but swoon. I can’t deny that he definitely spiced up the whole series. A rich bachelor, with girls here and there (duh, hence the title ‘Manwhore’), and having a devil of a father, Malcom has become a powerful man that all people of Chicago look up to. That all people around him would want MORE of Malcom. Party, Malcom? Drinks, Malcom? Foursome, Malcom? He’s cold, enthralling, and he definitely embodies a true alpha-male, oozing with confidence and power.

The romance in this book was definitely heavy and steamy, as in smut-af. Writing-wise, everything is so visual. So ecstatic. The whole build-up of the relationship was written rather nicely at a steady, growing pace! The reaction between the two are like magnets who can’t get enough of each other. I mean, just keep on blushing, Rache!

I also enjoyed the bits of the supporting characters. Especially Tahoe! I know he isn’t everyone’s cuppa but I just find him reaaaally funny despite his playboy/foul status as well (I can’t wait to read his story!).

Anyhow, I wasn’t a fan of how the first book ended… but then I was glad that Manwhore +1 was already out so I was able to get a copy and see what happened next. It ended so abrupt with the last paragraph, then it said “to be continued to the next Manwhore book…” I was like, seriously? But then the second book picked up where it last set off, so that’s fine by me.
OH, another thing that bothered me is how Edge was always italicized when it didn’t seem necessary? I mean, everyone’s already aware of what Edge is. I always find myself critical about how a novel’s writing style as it affects how I read. On a positive note, the two books were written well and there was no problem with the flow of the story. I greatly appreciated how detailed the book was, so it helped me create images in my mind (as mentioned above! lol).

This book was recommended to me by one of my friends, and she, along with a few other friends seemed to love it. I was then intrigued by this book and what the hype was about. Sadly, this book did not live up to my expectations. I would still recommend this though for readers who love New Adult smut *wink*. And everyone who reads New Adult knows that an alpha-male is a definite a guilty pleasure. The ending was SO great, it made me really enjoy this series in the end! 🙂

PS — Sorry for not including a quote from the story! It completely slipped off my mind. 😦

Leave a Reply

