REVIEW | Friend-Zoned by Belle Aurora

6983012“So we can be friends, right?”

Friend-Zoned (Friend-Zoned #1)
by Belle Aurora
published April 12th 2013
Link to Goodreads 
New Adult Contemporary

Read: 08 December 2015
My Rating: ★★★

 [Buddy read this with my friend Pearl]

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Nikolai Leokov never thought he’d fall in love with the only girl he’s ever befriended.

Valentina Tomic has issues with commitment after the ultimate betrayal.

When Tina decides to make broody Nik’s day better, she never thought she would end up friends with the hard man.

Nik has never had a woman be so affectionate to him without expecting something in return.

Nik and Tina cordially invite you to read Friend-zoned.

A story of friendship, humour and love.

Thoughts:

Friend-Zoned felt fun, witty, and maybe even a guilty-pleasure to read. Without a doubt, one of the most entertaining books I’ve read this year.

No matter how the writing style was a turn off, I still kept reading the book. I found myself laughing at most parts but there were just scenes I found very unnecessary. I would like to say that this could be a better book if it was executed properly. There was no build-up with the suspense of whatever was ‘happening’ in this book. The scenes just seemed to be abrupt then it was simply thrown away/disregarded at the end. There was no depth in this story, despite being quite a lengthy contemporary read [or maybe it just felt like it was long?]. This was a guilty pleasure for me because no matter how I wanted to put this book down because of how it was written, I continued it because it was light and fun to read.

One of the things I’d like to point out is that I felt like there were just too many characters in this book that it took up the space and time of building the main character’s personality and whatever was happening in their life. It was just a little bit too over the place. It’s like you’d see them having an amazing time, then something happens. Repeat cycle.

Tina was an entertaining main character. She was sweet, full of humor, and an overall a very great friend. She was a little childish for my liking, but her humor was what made me like her. I mean what 28-year-old would say, ‘Holy crudsickles’… well I don’t know. Meanwhile, I perceived Nik to be an okay male main character. Yes, he’s definitely swoon worthy, but he’s nothing out of the ordinary. It was difficult to picture him at first, since you know more about his ethnicity further on in the book. Above all of that, he was sweet and caring and I enjoyed his role here as well.

I don’t really think I would like this much if we were to talk about the individuality of the characters, but with Tina and Nik together, their friendship was just goals for me. It’s that kind of weird, sweet, but really cute friendship they have. Their friends was also an amazing support system, which made the relationships in this book stronger.

Overall, it was an OK-read for me but it’s not my priority on continuing this series although I would like to see more of the other characters soon! 🙂

“He chuckles and says, “Finally. More than friends.” I put on the most serious face I can muster and offer, “yeah, more than friends…Best friends forever!”

Leave a Reply

