REVIEW | Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

18006496“Sometimes there won’t be a right choice, just the best of several bad options.”

Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4)
by Sarah J. Maas
published on September 1st 2015 by Bloomsbury USA
Young Adult | Fantasy

My Rating:★★★★★
[Warning: If you haven’t read the first three books, I suggest you to skip this post as there is spoilers for the previous books!]

Synopsis from Goodreads:

The queen has returned.

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past…

She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die for her. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.

The fourth volume in the New York Times bestselling series continues Celaena’s epic journey and builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world.

Screen Shot 2015-12-05 at 5.52.52 PM

My Thoughts:

Queen of Shadows is the epitome of an epic-action-packed fantasy novel. This has just become my all time favorite series. I do NOT know if I like this better than Heir of Fire… I feel very conflicted.

Anyway, this book was just phenomenal. There were so many twists and turns that will make you go just “what the?!”. It’s funny and frustrating at the same time because we never know what Aelin’s intentions are. You’ll just be surprised with what she’s doing because you have no idea what the fuck is in her mind. But her character was so fantastic, it is such a great experience seeing her fully develop into a ruler, a Queen. I really don’t know how can her sass get sassier! I sometimes find myself laughing at things that aren’t entirely hilarious. She has gained my respect on a fuller level.

One of my other favorite females is Manon Blackbeak. Holy cow, Manon. I love her in so many ways! I know I already mentioned in my Heir of Fire review that I loved her because I relate to her so much, but I just loved her even more here. Her character development throughout this book is so wonderful that I personally think if you didn’t like her in Heir of Fire, your impressions of her will change throughout this series.

That’s one of the best things in this series. EVERY CHARACTER SEEMS TO TRANSFORM AT SOME POINT, from someone you don’t like, to someone you do like; and from someone you used to like, and now really really dislike.

I’ll avoid explaining the my love for the men in this series, since there will be spoilers if I did. Sorry, it’s inevitable. I might post something different in the future, ranking the Throne of Glass men. I just loved them with all of my heart. It was too much in this book. I can’t help but squeal when……. jfhhadf ugh anyway I don’t want to give things away!

I swear to all things in heaven that every single character in this series have been sculpted so well, it just made everything beyond perfect. The good guys (y’know em), and the bad guys; from the King, to Arobynn, to the Valgs.

There were a number of new characters introduced here as well that just changed the flow of the story, and it was just handled so very well.

Overall, everything was just executed flawlessly and I can say that I appreciate fantasy more and more now thanks to this series. I really can’t say much here without spoiling the nitty-gritty details of Queen of Shadows, but it was just amazing. PICK IT UP.

Oh, just one more year for the next book. One year of filled with agony for the fifth instalment. One year. One year.

2 thoughts on “REVIEW | Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

