REVIEW | Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

20613470“…and then I am going to rattle the stars”

Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3)
by Sarah J. Maas
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens (2014)
Young Adult | Fantasy

My Rating: ★★★★★ 

[WARNING: IF YOU HAVE NOT READ NEITHER
THRONE OF GLASS or CROWN OF MIDNIGHT, TRY AVOIDING THIS POST]

Synopsis from Goodreads:

She was the heir of ash and fire, and she would bow to no one.

Celaena Sardothien has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak—but at an unspeakable cost. Now she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth…a truth about her heritage that could change her life—and her future—forever.

Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. To defeat them, Celaena must find the strength to not only fight her inner demons but to battle the evil that is about to be unleashed.

The king’s assassin takes on an even greater destiny and burns brighter than ever before in this follow-up to the New York Times bestselling Crown of Midnight.

I haven’t been posting for quite a long time now, but I’d like to share my non-spoiler thoughts on Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas.

Screen Shot 2015-11-28 at 4.35.09 PM

Thoughts:

This is easily my favorite book of this series by far. It was action packed, engaging, and it had me clinging on whatever I could when I just couldn’t contain myself.

I didn’t know it was possible, but Celaena’s character development was at it’s best by far. She can be feisty most of the time, but with her skills and fearsome strength, she’s still that sass and badass warrior we all came to love and admire.

There are some of the new characters that were so freaking awesome. I wouldn’t mention one of my new favorites cause his character is pretty significant at some point of the story, which would just spoil details, and I don’t want that to happen. Anyway, Rowan was such an amazing character and I am glad I’ve finally met him. I would like to admit that it was quite difficult to like him at first but as the book progressed, he has grown in to me and I just ended up enjoying, respecting, and loving him so much. With his age comes with wisdom that would make him seem bossy, and full of himself, but he’s just one of the most realistic (in a sense) characters in this book. Another character I just really love for some reason is Mannon Blackbeak. I feel like I could really relate to her in some ways. If there was a character whom I have the same personality with, it would definitely be her. I can’t explain how or why, but I just feel connected with her in some way.

Meanwhile, Chaol just confused me because he just can’t make up his damn mind as to where his loyalties lie. It just annoys me because he’s one of my favorite characters in this series. Then Dorian… I’m not sure as to why I don’t seem like I’m ever going to like him. Although he has made some developments, some of it was just cringe-worthy. I’m just utterly turned off with his actions. [Please don’t hate me]

One of my main problems with this book is the change of perspectives. I know it was necessary to be able to understand the whole progression of what is happening here, and there, but I felt like I had a difficulty with it because it made the pacing seem a bit slow. But then again, that didn’t hinder me from enjoying this book. On another hand, one thing I like the most is how she always seems to end her books with a big BANG.

Throne of Glass ended awesome, and Crown of Midnight just dropped a big bomb. Heir of Fire was wrapped up in such a compelling manner that would make you excited for the next book in the series.

– – On a more personal note, this became my favorite not only because of the action induced in it, but because I don’t know how many times I’ve cried or just teared up because of this book [I don’t normally cry when there’s no romance]. But there were just specific scenes with Rowan that was just so heart wrenching, it just had me bawl my eyes out. SO awesome. READ IT.

 

Leave a Reply

